Civil Rights Litigation

"Civil Rights" are the rights of individuals to be free from unfair or disparate or discriminatory treatment. Civil rights are consitutionally protected rights both on the federal and state level, and that have teen established by statutes or through court decisions. Cities, counties or municipalities may also have ordinances or laws relating to civil rights protections. In short, civil rights are the rights that everyone enjoys equally and that are protected under the law, regardless of your nationality, race, religion, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation, or other particular circumstances.

Police Misconduct - There are many different kinds of civil rights violations. You may be a victim of a civil rights violation if feel that you have been the victim of police misconduct. Police misconduct results from illegal or inappropriate actions taken by law enforcement officers in the course of their official duties. Police misconduct may include but is not limited to the use of excessive force against you, racial profiling, surveillance abuse, etc.

Discrimination - If you believe that your civil rights have been violated, you may also be the victim of discrimination.

Discrimination comes in many different forms, including sexual harassment, refusing to promote you in your job even though you are qualified, refusing to rent you an apartment, and retaliating against you for asserting a legal right.

  • Should you consider litigation? 
    If you feel you have been discriminated against, and have not been able to work things out, you may want to consider a lawsuit. 
    KAZAROSIAN COSTELLO LLP may be able to clarify what your rights are and what kinds of remedies are available to you. We have years of experience to guide you in making the right decision.
  • When must you start a Discrimination action? 
    Generally speaking, an action in Massachusetts must be commenced within 300 days of the time that a person believed that he or she was being discriminated against. In New Hampshire, the time frame is even shorter - 180 days. This is governed by each state's Statute of Limitations.
go to top